Home General Chat Creative Corner
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Learning to crochet

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I started learning to crochet today, well I learnt when I was about 8 lol so can do chain stitch already lol

Trying to start a simple granny square but finding it really difficult! Tension is all over the place, twisted stitches and big holes!

Someone tell me it will get easier, and that knitting was just as difficult at the start! :(

Comments

• Options
    It will get easier! I find crochet loads easier than knitting now.

It might help to get some practice doing a couple of flat swatches to even out your tension before you try another granny square?

Also try playing around with the way you hold your hook. I can not get it in my head if I grip it the way you're supposed to, so i hold it in this weird way that's like a cross between holding a knife and holding a knitting needle! Sounds stupid, but it really helps. :)
  • Options
    Oh good for you, I cannot wait to see what you create! Post pictures, even of a square :D

My grandma also taught me how to crochet as a youngester but I just couldn't get the hang of it. I kept losing stitches and just made U shaped things. I'd love to try again though, I've seen Olive's stuff and it is just gorgeous and she inspires me! (and Missy too ;))
  • Options
    Oh good for you, I cannot wait to see what you create!

All I created yesterday was shapeless circles of yarn :grump:

I think I am doing the stitches right because they seem easy enough, but the finished article looks nothing like it's supposed to! I think I don't understand exactly how the stitches make shapes. I hope once I get this then it will become easier

Anyone know any good crochet videos? I want knittinghelp for crochet!

GRR at crochet!
  • Options