Home Introduce Yourself
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Self-harm and other mental health.

Maddie05Maddie05 Posts: 56 Boards Initiate
Hey guys, I'm new to the mix, my name is Madison (but I prefer to be called Maddie, as I hate my name...) And I'm 13, feel free to introduce yourself too. I struggle with self-harm, and suicidal thoughts, and its not something that can go in the click of a finger. Sadly. Despite my parents not knowing any of this, doesn't help, I don't want to talk them because I know they will have a bad reaction and not believe me, as when my older sister told them she is depressed, they did nothing much, and acted like they didn't care... So I thought maybe coming here, I can get the support instead of from my parents... Not that they try to understand.
But I was hoping someone could give some advice on any of this? :/
Thanks.

- Maddie, 13

Comments

• DancerDancer Community Champion Posts: 7,740 Master Poster
    Hi Maddie,

Welcome to The Mix! I hope that you enjoy it here. I just wanted to let you know that you are never alone with what you are going through.

I'm Kasa but you can call me Kayla. I am also 13 years old. I wish that I could give you advice on how to deal with the problems that you are facing but I just don't know what to say. One thing I can say to you though is stay strong and keep fighting. It is a difficult battle but with courage and determination, you will win. You are so amazing and appreciated by everyone even if they don't show it. 

If you or your sister need any support when the boards are quiet, there is the 1-2-1 phone helpline, Webchat, telephone counselling, webchat counselling, email service and crisis messenger. 

There is always support out there.
    "There's a part of me I can't get back. A little girl grew up too fast. All it took was once. I'll never be the same." ~ Demi Lovato