Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Van Gogh

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    At the end of the day, it comes down to terminology. I wouldn't ever ever use 'and this speaker speaks QE with a broad Scottish accent', and I'm sure none of my colleagues would. They probably wouldn't even say 'the queen speaks QE with an RP accent'. They would instead, however, use SE in its place. Although they may be, to you, one and the same thing, I would say they are totally different, and because I'm an English Language postgraduate student who in 4 years time will (hopefully) be a doctor of English Language, what I say goes.
  • Options
    Originally posted by dr_carter
    Note that the only response to my argument is 'you're wrong'.

You know that little bar on the right of the screen? Scroll up, and you might be able to see some more of my responses :)

Tool.
  • Options
    Did I say that I am any better than you or anyone else? No.

Did you forget to look up "implications" in the dictionary? Yes.
  • Options
    Originally posted by Doofay

Wow, so you mean they have to go out, have free, luxurious and exquisite dinners? And holidays? And she gets paid to talk about the times with her family? I see what you mean now, what a hard life she leads :(

You really have no idea how hard she actually works, do you? She probably has less time off than most of the country, and yet you still call her lazy. How dare you.
    How has she suffered like us? i mean what the fuck. has she ever got into a fight, had major family problems, fallen out of trees and broken bones, been through friends and relatives having major mental problems, etc? No. She just sits on her arse all day thinking about what the next best thing she should spend out hard earned money on is.