Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

June 22nd - Day of the emergency budget!!!

Eeeeekk, I'm a bit nervous.

1. Because I'm wondering if I still have a job - I work in the public sector.

annnd

2. Because there have been talks of cutting public sector pay by 10% as well as asking us to pay more into our pension! Sooooo even if I am left with a job, am I even going to be able to afford to keep it?

:chin:

Just thought there should be a thread on this! :D
Beep boop. I'm a bot.

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    In the build up to the budget we have had to endure the most hyperbolic amount of alarmist bollocks this country has ever heard- I guess they're trying to 'soften us up' for the cuts they have in mind.

And while the economy is far from rosy, make no mistake- the Tories are using the excuse to introduce savage, Thatcher-style cuts, because at the end fo the day they are Tories and that's the only thing they know.

Bad times ahead.
  • Options
    10% cut in pay, where the hell did that come from :nervous:
  • Options
    Have a play with the BBC's deficit reducing program: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/10373060.stm

I plump for VAT to go up to 30% for the next five years. BOOM! Problem solved.
  • Options
    it was on dispatches last night.

eta: it was said that someone on £25k, would lose £3700 a year if they increased pension contributions and cut pay by 10%. i can't afford that. i'll be looking for a new job if they do that! we are already going to be taking a pay cut by not getting our inflation pay rise!
  • Options
    Aladdin wrote: »