Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Jobseekers and Holidays?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I've been claiming job seekers allowance now for a couple of months and I'm going on one weeks holiday to Greece. I was told by one advisor in the jobcentre, that all I do is lose one week JSA because I'm out of the country and thus unavailable for work.

Now, at my last signing on, I queried this with another advisor and was told that I'd have to sign off and then sign on when I come back - this would include going through the whole interviewing process that I had to do to start JSA which took over 3 weeks....

So I'm confused and a little annoyed. Which one is accurate?

Ilora x

Comments

• Options
    is it just normal jobseekers? if so i suggest you sign off, go on your holiday and then sign back on and try and find a job. plenty of temp agencies will get you work within a day. even in one of the most depressed areas in the country like mine, there's work for everyone who wants it!

how the hell do you afford a holiday on jobseekers? i work full time and trying to scrimp and save to go away for a long weekend!
  • Options
    koe_182 wrote:
    even in one of the most depressed areas in the country like mine, there's work for everyone who wants it!
    I think that's the key issue.
  • Options
    ^ Valid points.

What kind of job are you seeking?
  • Options
    its bloody annoying, i lost my last job, was made redundant and when i went to sign on, and by the time they'd processed everything i'd got a new job and wasnt entitled to everything cos the first 3 days dont count. even people with little or no experience can do something.
  • Options
    a) Yes, It's normal job seekers...