Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

teen parenting

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Originally posted by Miffy
    There's nothing to stop you getting an education when you've got kids. I had two when I did my degree.

how on earth did u manage?
  • Options
  • Options
    Originally posted by xmizzcattyx

With support from the people around her, maybe?

I know someone who had a daughter when she was sixteen, and carried on with her A-levels exactly as I've done, and will be going to university in September just as I will - the only difference in education between her with a child and me and countless others without one is that she's got better grades. I might have agreed with the opinion that young mums are 'throwing their lives away' (for want of a better term) before I met her, but I just see no sense in the argument any more.

There's more to life than getting an education, you just can't see it if you choose not to think from someone else's perspective.
  • Options

In what sense do you mean?
  • Options
    In my opinion a lot of teen Mums have a lot to be proud of. I'm talking about the ones who sacrifice a good few years of their life at a time when their mates are having fun in order to devote their time and attention to the baby. Often facing a l ack of money and prejudice.

I know teen mums who are great mums who got preggers by accident, by the same token I know mums who had planned pregnancies who dont give their kids anywhere near the amount of time and attention they need.

So kudos to all of you, you've not wasted a life, merely created a new one and when you look at what you've created does it matter your education may be put back a few years.