Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Taking therapy

JJLemon18JJLemon18 Community Champion Posts: 2,021 Boards Champion
Hi guys. I will be having talking therapy/counselling sessions at university and its my first time so I have a few questions.
I have no idea what they will be like so I'm not too sure how to prepare. So I just talk about my feelings or does it have to be about something in particular? How much do I prepare or do I just go and hope for the best? I'm just worried that without preparation I might not to know what to say or worse I'll say something stupid.
Any advice is highly appreciated as I really don't know what to expect.
Sending hugs
Believe in me - who believes in you

Comments

• StephanieStephanie Moderator Posts: 1,084 Wise Owl
    Hey @JJLemon18

Firstly it's a positive and brave step to reach out for support. :smile:

It's understandable to be unsure of what to expect.

I think it's about giving you a safe space to be able to talk about things.

Something that might help is writing things down if you feel able to do this, as it could help you during the session to take some of the pressure away of having to think of what you want to talk about when you get there. How would you feel about that?

As it's your first time in talking therapy/counselling it's normal to not know what is going to happen or to feel unprepared, the therapist will be there to help you through it and answer any questions/concerns that you have.

You've got this. :heart:
                                   "Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times if only one remembers to turn on the light" - Albus Dumbledore