Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Money - do people really earn silly amounts after uni?

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    "Paralegal" is one of those lovely terms that means everything and nothing at the same time. I was a "paralegal" when I worked as a remortgage conveyancer- my wage was a smudge over 11 grand a year. I was also a "paralegal" when I was doing pretty complex conveyancing and earning a good deal more. I wasn't a "paralegal" when I was working as a criminal solicitor's clerk and I'm not a "paralegal" now.

You should be able to find a paralegal job fairly easily, but you should expect to be at the bottom doing the menial stuff. But if you're not looking to go down the training contract route just yet then that's what you'll have to do.

With a bit of experience you should be able to find a training contract. You're unlikely to find a training contract that pays your LPC fees as they only tend to be offered by the big corporate firms, but that's not the same thing. The Crown Prosecution Service offer training contracts to anyone with a 2.2 or above, once you have your LPC, and high street firms are often even less strict if you have the experience to make you employable.

You could go and work for my old firm in Newcastle- they're advertising for a "junior trainee paralegal" at the minute. I think that translates as "knucklehead to make the coffee and get paid a pittance for it", but I could be wrong.

ETA: When we were students we lived on shopping of £25 a week and a £3 bottle of wine or a £15 (in total) meal out was extravagant. And now we don't.
  • Options