Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Scottish independence

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm not an expert of British politics but as far as I know political forces in Scotland wants a Scotland that's not in GB at all.
Do you agree with this? IF so, why or why not?

One point I've noticed is control of vast oil resources on the Scottish continental shelf.

Comments

• Options
    Fuck em, I say.

If they want to be independent (which i doubt the majority of Scots do want) let them.

They will so realise that selling haggis and whiskey only pay for so many prescriptions and tuition fees.

Scotland is better off with Britain than without.

:thumb:
  • Options
    I don't want it and I don't know any folk who do.

The SNP got in because they weren't Labour and now Alex Salmond has gone bat shit insane.
  • Options
    Calvin wrote: »
    They will so realise that selling haggis and whiskey only pay for so many prescriptions and tuition fees.

And we'll run out of bowler hats, stiff upper lips and the perverse love for a game as stupid as cricket that we important from south of the border.
  • Options
    I dont think the EUs structural funds would quite cover their current standard of living.
  • Options
    Unless they plan to float off it will still be part of Great Britain, though they may leave the United Kingdom.

That said recent polls suggest that support's going down.
  • Options
    Wasn't there a vote on this not that long ago? And they voted to stay in the UK? The countries are better off together than apart imo, for everyone.
  • Options
    I say no, because they're a conquered territory :p.