Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

I had an abortion

Gem24Gem24 Posts: 2 Newbie
Hi all, 

I’m pretty new to this, but looking for some support. I had an abortion on Monday, and I know in my heart of hearts that it was the right decision for me, but I wasn’t expecting to feel so empty afterwards. Was just wondering whether anyone else has had a similar experience/know someone who has? 

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• LaineLaine Deactivated Posts: 2,762 Boards Guru
    Hey Gem and welcome x

I personally have not had this experience so far. 

I just wanted to pop by and tell you that it's perfectly fine to feel this way,  you may be able to find some forums based around it. 

There is also all the services the mix provide, such as 1-2-1 chat you can find on the get support page. 

The abortion service you used may also be available to talk to regarding post feelings. 

We're all here for you :)

🌈Positive thoughts🌈

"This is my family. I found it, all on my own.
    It's little, and Broken, but still good. Yeah. Still good." ~ Stitch

"Lately, I've been struggling with all the simple things in my life" ~ Cian Ducrot

"I don't know if it's because my heart hurts or I'm insecure" ~ Juice Wrld
  • chubbydumplingchubbydumpling Posts: 487 Listening Ear
    Hi @Gem24 <3

You’re in the right place – here at The Mix we do our best to listen and support you with any difficulties you might be facing. Everything you post is totally anonymous and free of judgement.   

It sounds like you’re going through a tough time right now, but what is important is that you made the right decision for yourself. While I don’t have personal experience of abortion, I have supported several friends through theirs and I think the feeling of emptiness you describe is fairly common. You are definitely not alone.