Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Being a young carer

AbigailAbigail Posts: 818 Part of The Mix Family
edited September 2019 in General Chat
Hi Everyone

​So I am going to uses this as my first ever post on the boards because it is. I never did a Hi post.

​So here it is. Hi My name is Abi I am 16 (Now) I love music, creative writing and you guessed it supporting others. currently when this is being edited I am studying music in my local college. I am a clarinet player, piano player and a singer. I love creative writing and seeing how much emotion I can put into on story also sharing what I do through a story. I have a few small fears one being FIREWORKS I am so scared of them

​As some people know I am a carer (Information about it below). Also I do love supporting stranger (Sound wired ... I know right) I love helping out as and when I can both online and out and about. I don't realise how supportive I am until other say it.

The reality of being a carer.

People think that being a young carer is an easy ride but it isn't. 195,000 young people are looking after someone who are older than them. Young carers can come in lots of different shapes and sizes. some of the most common caring roles are for people with physical disabilities, other caring roles include people with mental health, post-traumatic stress and many more.

What happens to young carers at home and how does it affect them in school?