Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Fancy more time to shop on Sundays?

You aren't alone if you do. Says the Beeb: "More than half of consumers want shops to open for longer on Sundays, research suggests. The findings come from a YouGov poll carried out for the My Sunday My Choice campaign, which wants the Sunday trading laws to be deregulated. The government is currently reviewing the restrictions on trading, which let shops open for six hours on a Sunday. A rival campaign called Keep Sunday Special says it wants to see the day return to a family day of rest."

Allow me to declare an interest. I work in a shop, and occasionally, I have to work Sundays. I don't have a specific opt-out for it, the boss chooses to give me the day off unless there are exceptional circumstances. Concerning the poll... I wonder if they'd been so keen to publish the findings had the public said they were against more Sunday trading. I wonder whether the people who work in the retail sector are equally in favour. Another day for the public to shout abuse and moan generally at shop staff... not a prospect I welcome, I have to say.

Anyway, over to you. Do you fancy more hours to shop? Want to work more on Sundays? Or do you fancy, as Keep Sunday Special does, that nobody should do any work on this day?
Beep boop. I'm a bot.

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I would like longer shopping hours on a Sunday, for me it just gives me the choice of when I want to shop instead of having to rush around. To me Sunday is just another day of the week.
  • Options
    I would like longer shopping hours on a Sunday, for me it just gives me the choice of when I want to shop instead of having to rush around.