Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Pick your brains please

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I wanted to know if any of you knew the rules with regards to drinking (water etc) at work.

Work have banned us from having any sort of drinks on the checkouts. So basically on a tueday i only get one break which is 30 mins during my 8 hour shift ( i get a 15 min break also on other days as i work an extra 30 mins). Surely its gotta be illegal to only be allowed to have one drink per shift?

I felt ill today without drinking. I haven't been there long though, what am i meant to do?
Does anyone else think its wrong?

Comments

• Options
    Do they not have a water fountian there? When I worked in retail we were not allowed to carry water around or have it at the check out. Seems normal to me. Have you told them that it makes you ill not being able to drink freely? Maybe if you discuss it with them they will be a little lienent towards you.
  • Options
    You arent meant to leave your checkout
  • Options
    When I was in retail we worked 7.5 hours, plus we had an hour for lunch and two 15 minute tea breaks If it was a hot day or we had a cold etc we where alloed to take water down with us and even take cough sweets etc. I believe you really should be getting more then one 30 minute break.
  • Options
    Not according to them i'm not> And if you ask to go to the pee(yes its like being back at school) its like you are asking for gold!
  • Options
    Is it a large compay you work for say Next or Boots etc or is it a local independant shop?
  • Options
    Its Asda Walmart, so a huge one.
  • Options