Home Neurodivergence
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Aged 16-25? Share your experience of using the discussion boards and receive a £25 voucher! Take part via text-chat, video or phone. Click here to find out more and to take part.

Autism Diagnosis

violynenjoyerviolynenjoyer Posts: 8 Confirmed not a robot
Okay so... im autistic. I know that, ive gotten confirmation from other autistic people, and even received support in sixth form during exams such as supervised rest breaks and smaller rooms to do my exams. I need to know how to go about and get a formal diagnosis. im going to uni in september and i had a meeting with an inclusion officer, who was also autistic, and we put together a support plan for when im studying, that all my lecturers will have. however, because i do not have a diagnosis, i cannot apply for DSA.

i have put together a small folder so i can bring it to my gp to ask for a referral, just things regarding my traits since childhood, any questionnaires ive done. but now its time to make an appointment with my gp and im very anxious and i keep putting it off.

i was told i can continue my diagnosis process in uni when i transfer to the local gp but its better if i start now. making matters even more complicated, none of my parents believe im autistic, just shy. even though i can make an appointment for myself, its recommended to have someone who has known you your entire life there to vouch and answer questions. i would call my sister, but shes very busy and its not guaranteed she will be available and i cant handle any sudden changes if she isnt.

also, what do i say on the phone when making the appointment. should i ask for a mental health assessment? or specify its for autism? which one are they more likely to take seriously?