Home Neurodivergence
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Aged 16-25? Share your experience of using the discussion boards and receive a £25 voucher! Take part via text-chat, video or phone. Click here to find out more and to take part.

Neurodiversity Advocacy

AutisticGirlAutisticGirl Posts: 34 Boards Initiate
I'm 13 and home educated and I really want to be a neurodiversity acceptance advocate but i'm not sure how to start any advice

Comments

• genderless_fungigenderless_fungi Moderator Posts: 195 Trailblazer
    Hello @AutisticGirl ! It's amazing that you want to get involved more in your community and be an advocate for mental health support - I'm no expert but I think that volunteering might be a good way to start. By taking a more active role in helping others you may be able to share your story and learn about lived experiences that might differ from your own, which might make you a better advocate in the future. Why would you like to be a neurodiversity acceptance advocate?

I'm going to post here some opportunities which I believe could work for your goals and age group.
    'Mind' is a mental health awareness organisation with many opportunities for young people to get involved; here is the link to their volunteering page: https://www.mind.org.uk/get-involved/volunteering-and-participating/

In particular, the youth voice network gives you a chance to share your experiences and have your say into what the organisation does and it's open for people aged 11-24. You can also become a media volunteer and share your story (open to people aged 13 and up). They are also looking for people to share stories by blogging or vlogging so maybe you could see if that might be something you want to be involved in.

Let me know if these resources are of any help and keep us updated :)