Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Help me get more informed!

Hey everyone,

I'm a 21 Y/O Autistic Student in my final year at Uni; after a few years of personal issues, my life right now is much better, but there's still a few things that I need advice or just some input over--especially around relationships and sex (thats why we're all here, after all).

Being my last year at university, I kind of feel like time is running out for me, when it comes to finding something more than just a casual, FWB (Friends with benefits) situation. I'm going out a lot more, to parties and socials, and I'm also doing online dating (AGAIN). A lot of my friends are in, or have been, in at least one relationship in their lives; at parties there's talk about exes and current partners, and I kind of feel like I'm being left behind. I'm losing my patience with it all, so its becoming tough to stay positive about my chance at finally being 'taken'.

Its in this situation that I'm talking to a girl. We met on Hinge, and things have been going well--especially in comparison to the other girl I was talking to, until recently; she finds me funny, and texts come easy. But, a week or two before our first date (we haven't been able to meet up ealier because reasons), theres been moments where I'm confused with some of the things she's said.

The first thing is her self-proclaimed 'Pickiness' about partners; while there's nothing wrong with sticking to standards and having your personal preferences, I'm a big believer in standards being reasonable, and at least aware of the fact that not all criteria will be met.

So, is "Pickiness" a 'red flag', and how big of a 'red flag' is it?