Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Dealing with the psychological effects of injury.

StarlightStarlight Posts: 1,436 Wise Owl
edited February 2022 in Health & Wellbeing
Hey! I haven’t been on here in sooooo long but I just felt like I needed some advice and didn’t know where to turn to as I’ve already spoken to so many people I know but I just wanted to see if there was any more advice or anything out there.

I’m currently a full time dance student at a dance college dancing up to 7 hours each day. Last October I started experiencing lower back pain and I went to a physiotherapist and I thought my problems had resolved and I was maintaining the issues. However my pain has come back again and it has started to play with my mental health. I’m constantly scared of moving and dancing and scared it is going to affect my potential career as a dancer. I’ve been feeling extremely down the past couple of weeks and have spoken to my college about it and they have been incredibly supportive and I’ve spoken to my GP today and I’m going to try a new physio and re evaluate in 4-6 weeks. However, it is still so unknown and that’s really hard to deal with, I’m currently sitting out and not dancing for at least the next week and have already been started to be pulled from opportunities at conventions and other performance opportunities due to how unknown it is and we don’t know how long it might take to heal. My mum keeps saying it might never heal and that really scares me even more because I don’t want to not dance, there is nothing I would want to do with my life, it’s my livelihood and the the thing keeping me going and without it I don’t know what I’d do.

Just wondering if anyone has any advice or experience on staying positive and hopeful throughout this waiting game it feels like I’m playing.

Thanks <3