Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

My girlfriend gets angry with me over what I believe to be very small things

JawfaceJawface Posts: 23 Boards Initiate
I've got very little experience when it comes to cooking. Cooking very often gives me anxiety. Nevertheless, when my girlfriend tried to help me to learn how to cook, it didn't go well. I'd ask her a stupid question, and she would always say "isn't it obvious? Why can't you see it? Why didn't you understand that?" or along those lines. Or if not, she would say "why can't you just think for yourself? You could've understood that without me asking you". So instead I'd try to do things without asking her, and she would say "why did you do it like that?". Her tone is certainly not a helpful one. It makes me feel totally useless, and makes me want to give up cooking altogether. I've told her this, and she always apologises afterwards for it, but she doesn't stop constantly berating and patronising me.

She gets stressed out when I get things wrong, and she gets annoyed when I don't know things. As a result, she "lashes out" (her words, not mine). She says it's normal for people to do that when they're stressed. When I feel stressed I'd say I probably have a mental tendency to do that as well, but I always suppress it. I don't understand why she's not able to do that, but she says that she isn't.

We've resolved to not cook together anymore. It's a shame, because I was learning from her on the few occasions that she was more patient with me, but I can't take it anymore, and nor can she.