Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

How do you save money?

GreenTeaGreenTea Posts: 12,938 Born on Earth, Raised by The Mix
Hello all,

I have a really bad habit of spending money! I'm not very good at budgeting but Im saving up for a big trip next summer, which is super exciting and I can't wait to be away travelling with my best friend.
However with my bad budgeting skills, I'm looking for some advice or tips on best ways to budget?

Thank you in advance!

GreenTea✨

Comments

• GreenTeaGreenTea Posts: 12,938 Born on Earth, Raised by The Mix
    I have a saving account already but I'm so useless at putting money in it!

Thank you for the idea
  • ThePigeonsThePigeons Posts: 199 Trailblazer
    I'm saving for a big trip aswell. It's hard, being a shopaholic and all

I think the first step would be to see where your money is going. Maybe from the last month. Write it down or use Excel.
    Divide it into your mandatory expenses and variables. See where the unnecessary spending is going.

Now you can budget for saving and spending money. One tip I have is to not make your spending budget too small, I found it hard to stick to, now I have a little bit of wiggle room.

Keep track on your spending throughout the month, use the notepad in your phone for example. That way you can see how much money you have left from the budget.

You could also do a weekly or daily budget. Another option is to withdraw the budget in cash and only use that to pay. See what works the best for you. If you overspend you could take that out of you next budget.

In my experience the most important thing to budgeting is to know where you're spening your money.

Hope this helps. Was that trip to Amsterdam? Maybe I could help you with some saving tips for when you're there

Good luck!
    ᴛʜᴇ ᴍɪɴᴅ ɪs ᴛʜᴇ ᴋᴇʏ ᴛʜᴀᴛ sᴇᴛs ʏᴏᴜ ғʀᴇᴇ