Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Self-harm

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey, I'm new to this. I'm 17.

I'm a self-harmer, have been for 5years. I have tryed everything to stop but nothing has worked. Its my way of coping and don't think I can live without it now but I would like to.
I have another problem with is talking to people face to face thats why I have never been able to get help because I start panicking when speaking to people and then kindof shut myself of.
I aswell stop eating for quiet abit as when I'm really down, eating just makes me worse.
My family don't care, I tryed explaining to them I need help but they say its my problem I have to sort it out but it has led to trying to end my life twice but they still aren't willing to listen. I've been alone for so long, not sure what to do now still.

Any advice?

Comments

• Options
    do you have anyone else you could speak to outside of your family? the thing about being frightened of speaking to people face-to-face is that you can only get over it by doing it, even though you're frightened. if a doctor was treating someone with a phobia or other intense fear then they would do so by exposing the person to the thing they are frightened of. it's the only way you will ever get over it, by gradually facing your fear.

maybe you could start by writing things down to give to people, then maybe read things from letters from the other side of a door, then gradually begin to speak in front of people? maybe you could start with a less traumatic topic, then start talking about your problems when you feel more comfortable?

i think you should practice taking to people you trust, and then you'll feel less alone, and you might find that you feel a bit better just by doing that.