Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

self harm

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Im not really sure where to start, doing this is awkward for me and im new to this so this might be quite rambling.

im 13. I've been self harming now for nearly a year, on and off. I sometimes have a hard time at home and right now ive been feeling so low and sometimes the only way to relieve that is to cut. I feel horrible a day or two afterwards- I feel embaressed. I havent told anyone, but sometimes it gets so untop of me that I feel i have to tell someone, even if its just this discussion board.
I know theres many people who go through things like this- and things much worse but I felt i had to tell someone.:(

Comments

• Options
    hello there. i think telling someone is a good idea. it may seem hard but its worth it in the long run. be carful who you tell, someone with a sympathetic ear.

For me telling someone was the first step to stopping.
    hope all is well.
  • Options
    Hi.
    And I agree until I had told someone it was a lot harder. Trust me try telling someone. I was and still am embaressed and people knowing and talking about it face two face I just can't do. So I totally get where you come from.
  • Options
    its funny, im in the same possition!
  • Options
    hello Bethanyh :wave:

This being your first post we wish you a warm welcome.
    It is a really supportive community and you will find lots of people that you can share your experiences and thoughts with and hopefully get the support your looking for.

Its great you ve recongnised that talking to people is one of the first steps to help you.
    Sometimes its hard talking to friends and family about a painful issue like self harm and that can be the myths and stigma that surrounds it.