Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Repossessions rise by 21%

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    No, you are mistaken.

I generally have come into contact with two groups of people -

Those who can afford to buy

Those who can't, and also have 0 deposit, 10K of debt etc etc

I have not met anyone who has even saved 3 or 5 or 10K towards their deposit as part of a long term plan

Oh, so I'm wrong because you've never met anyone who's saving towards a house? I work in a restaurant with a bunch of poorly paid staff with young families, so I think I've met a few people who are attempting to save towards an house. And the only ones who managed it are people without kids who bought it back when 2 up 2 downs were about £50k, rather than the £100k they are now.
  • Options
    Oh, so I'm wrong because you've never met anyone who's saving towards a house? I work in a restaurant with a bunch of poorly paid staff with young families, so I think I've met a few people who are attempting to save towards an house. And the only ones who managed it are people without kids who bought it back when 2 up 2 downs were about £50k, rather than the £100k they are now.

Yes, because I've never met them, I'm talking about my experiences and from what I have read

What else do you suggest I base it on, my imagination?

Even on forums, I read posts from people moaning they can't afford a house, so then you ask them where they are trying to buy, how much they have saved

and it's always "nothing, theres no point"

or "nothing, I can't afford it"

"I'm in too much debt"

etc

I am in the same boat as above, but I am not moaning about being able to move areas?

I am working 70-80 hour weeks to clear my debts down to enable me to save a larger deposit
  • Options