Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Paying off student overdraft

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
It's almost 2 years since I graduated and I'm still paying off my student overdraft :(

I know they reduce the interest-free amount to £500 after 2 years, thankfully I'm just below that.

Student overdrafts seem really good while you're a student but you tend to forget you have to pay it back. I'm aiming to have mine clear by Christmas, that will be a nice feeling.

Comments

• Options
  • Options
    She's not got a problem with the account as far as I can tell, and will still be interest free so that's not a problem either.

She's making the very good point that banks give you these huge interest free overdrafts when you are a student, which aren't so bad, but then are still there and usually start costing as soon as you graduate.

BE WARNED it's not a present!
  • Options
  • Options
    How big was your overdraft? Without trying to be rude how is it taking so long to pay it back? My boyfriend paid off £3000 worth of debt in a year and thats with paying £300 rent a month, and he's only on about £11k a year. He didn't live off nothing either, still had some spafe for clothes and dvd's etc
  • Options
    I don't use my student account anymore. I'm just paying off the overdraft and then it will be closed for good.

My overdraft was £1,500. The reason it's taking so long to pay back, I dunno. I am paying back £30 a month because I'm not earning that much money and have other outgoings.
  • Options
    katchika wrote: »
    I don't use my student account anymore. I'm just paying off the overdraft and then it will be closed for good.