Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Feel like I’m never going to be employed

KBee99KBee99 Posts: 62 Boards Initiate
Hello,

I graduated last year with a first class degree and ever since I have been applying to jobs and I always either get rejected instantly or rejected after my interview or even ghosted. Is anyone else having the same problem as me? It very much feels like all my friends are easily securing jobs and I’m failing at it.

Comments

• Options
    MaisyMaisy Moderator Posts: 645 Incredible Poster
    It can be really disheartening getting rejected a lot, more so when it feels like all your friends can easily get jobs and you can't.

I'm wondering what kind of jobs you have been applying for? Are they related to your degree or are you just applying to any kind of job in general? Some people find that even with a degree, it can still be difficult getting jobs in your chosen career, and if this is the case, then you might want to talk to your university's career advice.

In general though, it's good to try to match your cv or application to the job role/description and show how you're a good fit for the job. If you don't have the exact experience or skills the employers are looking for, you can always use transferrable skills, to show your potential for doing well in the job. For other jobs, particularly retail, you may get instantly rejected for things like flexibility e.g. a store may want someone who is flexible to work any day of the week, or work during weekends/unsocial hours, so if you aren't able to commit to that, you may unfortunately get rejected.