Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Guilt over leaving abusive partner

cinderelle98cinderelle98 Posts: 2 Newbie
edited July 2021 in Sex & Relationships
Hi this is my first time posting,

TRIGGER WARNING !! Abuse

I’m a 23 year old woman who just came out of a short lived but very intense abusive relationship. It was both physical and mental, although the mental effects of it are what I’m struggling with.

We met at a petrol station in February, I started visiting him, we started spending the weekends together and he promised me the world. A month in, he started checking my phone, my Instagram, accusing me of cheating on him every day. Eventually he wouldn’t let me leave the house at all without him and when I went home to see my family, he would completely lose it.

Physical started soon after where he would be extremely violent to me and I ended up with quite the show of marks & bruises, which made me lose all my confidence. I won’t be specific.

After 5 months, I was getting more scared of his actions and words every day. In arguments he would threaten my family. I told him I’m leaving. He held me hostage at knifepoint in his home for 4 hours. Armed police turned up an hour later and took me back to the station. He escaped, I made my way home.

I blocked his number. He is begging me to talk to him & be his friend at least, screaming, crying, leaving me suicidal voicemails off unknown caller and despite all he did, I still love him. I can’t get over the feelings of guilt and betrayal I feel for leaving him, I feel so awful that I’ve upset him this much and it truly breaks my heart. He has nobody else. I always promised to never vanish on him but I’ve had to do exactly that. I can’t bear to think how heartbroken he is, and I wish I could fix it for him but I can’t. We can’t be together.