Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

What was the best thing a teacher did for you?

One-in-a-millionOne-in-a-million Posts: 599 Incredible Poster
edited March 27 in Work & Study
so ive just been thinking about when I was at high school and had extra help with reading. Do we would go out in a little group and fo a group read. As well as having a book to take home and read with mum, dad, nan ect.

anyone who has had to do extra reading will remember wellington square books with biff chip and floppy. 😂😂😂

this was fine at primery school but when your 14 they get quite boring. Anyway reading wellington square made me not want to read. So my teacher had a word with me to see what was wrong (I was a well behaved student)
I explained that I was struggling to read the books due to not liking them. She said  if I carried on reading them for now, she will see what she can do for me and asked what things I would enjoy more. For me this included mysteries, spooky and crime type books (age appropriate of course.)

jump forward a few months and I my teacher told me she had managed to sort something out for me. She showed me a whole bew set of books called the extraordinary files. These were mystery books that were right up my street. Two detectives investigating a series of supernatural events. I loved them, I remember reading one in particular and not wanting to put it down!

I spoke to her recently (almost 7 years since I left school) I told her that I continue to read now and was grateful for her getting those books. What I didn’t realise was how hard it was to get those books in the first place!!! 
She told me it took a lot of pleading and negotiating to get the funding to buy the books in the first place. she also told me that the amount of children/teenagers that she worked with had also been doing better with there reading.