Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

I feel like Alice.

Evelyn360Evelyn360 Posts: 82 Budding Regular
Hi, I'm new to this. I've never really spoken about my mental health before. I fall into the classic stereotype of being too embaressed, too ashamed. So I don't really know why I decided to look up forums to talk in today. My real name's not even Evelyn, I couldn't even commit to that even though this is anonymous. Go figure right? 

Sometimes I write things down when I'm feeling a tad overwhelmed so I thought I'd share a bit from this week and just go from there I guess. So this week, I wasn't Evelyn, I was Alice.

I feel like Alice. I fell down the rabbit hole and I had no idea it was coming. Since then I've been stuck, unable to get out. Lost in an endless cycle that shows no sign of going anywhere. A cycle I hadn't really acknowledged until now. Imagine there's three stages to this cycle. One is darkness, one is white, and one is the ledge. Each have their own struggles, each have their own comforts.

The ledge
Imagine a ledge with a wall. On one side is where you've been, and on the other is where you're going. You know you can't go back to where you've been, so that only leaves where you're going. Where you've been is white and where you're going is darkness. So, you live on edge, knowing that the fall into the darkness is inevitable because you can't go back which means darkness is too come. You are literally teetering. Waiting for the fall. Walking so carefully for fear of going over. Don't move too fast, think too hard or draw attention. For you might fall sooner.