Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Sad face

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
:wave:

Sorry I know I don't really post much any more. I'm really not expecting advice or answers or anything, perhaps just a hug or two from the people who know me. Things are hard. I miss my dad. My day job isn't a distraction, it's a BAM in your face sort of thing.

I really want to be at home with my mum, but I can't. I need to return to some normality. I'm trying to go home as often as I can, but that will only be every 3 or so weeks. It's always mega hard coming back again too.

I'm still so sad about the way my dad died. I'm gutted that his cancer spread to his brain and that we lost the real him 9 months ago. Without even knowing that that was the cause, because no one did a scan until recently. And I'm gutted that actually when it came to it, his death was unexpected and that I didn't get to say goodbye to him when he was conscious. Also sad that actually, his death at that time may have been preventable.

I feel traumatized to some extent. The weekend he spent in hospital was traumatic. Adrenaline kept me going but it was horrible. From the call I received with the bad news when I was 250 miles away, arriving 5 hours later in his hospital side room and seeing him so unwell in person. Seeing him decline. Spending the night by myself on a mattress in his room, but too scared to fall asleep in case he died whilst I was asleep. And then watching him die.

At the moment they are all the memories I have. The distressing memories from the hospital and also how hard life was for him in the past 9 months.