Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Why are you right?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
A conundrum that's been circling my head for a few months now. I'm starting to think about applying for jobs soon, and I need to be able to get it straight in my head first....

So I work with homeless people, and I'm studying Politics and Sociology so that I can work in human and civil rights, I've demonstrated for causes I believe in since the age of 12, and my mother tells me that at the age of three I stood up on a chair in a restaurant and told everyone not to order the tuna because dolphins get caught in the nets.

I know what I believe is right and wrong, and my blood literally fizzes when I hear of cases of racism and homophobia, child soldiers and domestic violence.

But I'm also a firm believer that everyone is entitled to their opinion, and will fight for everyone's right to express and realise their beliefs.

And here is my problem. I believe that homophobia is wrong, with all of my heart. But I know that out there are thousands of people that believe homosexuality is wrong, with all of their hearts. And I know I'm not better than them. And I know I'm not more important, or enlightened, than them. So how can I say I'm more right than them? And how can I fight for something I believe is right, when really, I'm not sure that objectively it is? How can I go into a career where I campaign against the death penalty when I believe in relativism, that what's right for one person is not for another? How can I justify suppressing another's beliefs and changing poiltical policy to stop their passions and beliefs being realised, just because I have passions and beliefs too?

How do you do it?

Comments

• Options
    So how can I say I'm more right than them?

more right or more ethical and less harmful?
  • Options