Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Benefit Fraud

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Blagsta wrote: »
    You think someone can live on £30/week? :eek:

Its more than I had. EMA wasn't around when I was a student and I bought most of my own things. I lived off my part-time wage of £90 a week.

I understand where you are coming from and I realise some students can't work for various reasons but tbh, if their situation was that bad, they'd claim income support and study a course part time or something.
  • Options
    You can only claim income support if you're incapable of work.
  • Options
    I am aware of that. If a student is really struggling for money though then they should just get a job rather than whinging. Its what I had to do. If they are living alone and have alot of outgoings then they can work full time and do a part time course. Plenty of people do it.
  • Options
    The person I know is also in receipt of income support as well as JSA whilst being a full time student....

Oh and Blagsta. I'm not being petty - she's commiting benefit fraud which is a crime.
  • Options
    You can't claim both income support and JSA? :confused:

How has she managed to do that? Aren't they both dealt with in the same office?
  • Options
    You can't claim IS and JSA at the same time, unless you claim under different identities. It's hardly the crime of the century is it? Studying over the 16 hours allowed. How much over 16 hours is she studying?

I take it, you see nothing wrong with the system as it is?
  • Options
    You can claim IS or IB while studying full time. You sure she isn't claiming one of these? You positive it's JSA?
  • Options