Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

training supplements?protein/creatine etc

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited January 2023 in General Chat
Recently I visited sports supplement/health shop. I'm a complete novice to the world of weight lifting and sports nutrition so I found it all quite fascinating.

One part of the shop was the bodybuilding section, with many different brands of whey protein powders, creatines and all sorts of crazy substances that apparently enhance your training performance. they also sell these protein bars that claim to pack over 50grams of protein into a bar of less than 300calories.
I found it all quite overwhelming but after a consultation with one of the shop assistants I purchased a tub of creatine, a tub of protein powder and some pills called "ache-free"
So what do all the trainers on the board think of training supplements?
Do you use them?
Is one brand better than the other or is "protein just protein"?
Should they be used often or should they just complement a good diet?
How much is too much?
Is it better to just train naturally?

I'm interested in what people think.....
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    I wouldn't call my opinion founded, but I'm against any supplements - not morally, but it's just a principle thing. I wouldn't say it's better to train naturally, as it's obviously up to the individual. I did a search on google but all i could find were biased articles trying to sell you their "BEST SUPPLEMENTS, THE RIGHT TRAINING, DIET AND SUPPLEMENTS FOR YOUR BODY TYPE. ORDERING SUPPLEMENTS. FREE WEEKLY FITNESS TIPS ..." :p I can't say I'm surprised though.
  • Options