Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Uni

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Is uni the best way to go?

I work in a bank at the mo. I am 20, Have got a few AS Levels nothing to be exceptionally proud of. I am considering entering uni as a mature student. Anyone know any pros and cons of going to uni?

:confused:
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    What do you want to study at uni?
  • Options
    **helen****helen** Deactivated Posts: 9,235 Supreme Poster
    Hi Jay P, welcome to TheSite, you may find the following article on making a decision about uni useful.

From my point of view, one of the best things about going to uni was studying abroad and making contacts relevant to my career interests. But I'm sure others will be more than willing to share their experiences with you. :)
  • Options
    I'd say go to uni if it's what you want to do. If there's a course that really interests you and when you graduate will put you in better standing than you are at the moment.

Uni isn't for everyone, and your not missing out on a life experience but not going. For my, my style of learning and what I want to do not going to uni never really crossed my mind. For others of my friends it would have been a waste of time and money. They work places (including banks) and are on training program type thing there.

Look at what you want to do in the future and whether whatever degree you'd get would be of more benefit than 3 years work.
  • Options
    your not missing out on a life experience but not going.
    that is true. contary to popular belief.