Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

I can't believe this hasn't been mentioned yet

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Or maybe it has, but I havn't seen it. Please direct me in the plac of it if it has.

Bush's English language amendment.
I'm a bit drunk but trying to get out what I think... I don't really have much of an opinion of it quite honestly. It's not that I don't care... its hard to explain right now. Growing up, we had a pretty poor school and in the foreign language department, by the time I graduated, Spanish was the only foreign language offerd. (Though I took french as I got it just in time.) I grew up in a town where "technically" the Hispanic population was 12%, though it honestly seemed at least 40%. Spanish was spoken everywhere. For the last 3 years I've lived in Chicago, very mulit cultural. I work in a place where Enlglish is the minority language. Many people speak Polish, Spanish, and (as ignorant as I am, I don't know what language) but Indian/Hindu. (God, I feel so stupid not knowing what language it is :()

I cannot speak any other language than English. I hate that fact. I took a few classes in highschool for French (before they took that away) but I know nothing.

Its my own fault that I don't know any other language. I get the wrong sandwich at Mcdonalds and I think its adorable when all the people at work can't tell me what they want, but its my own fault for not understanding.