Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Year Abroad stress!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Hi, I'm studying French and Italian and next September it's my year abroad. I'm thinking of spending the academic year in Italy in Uni and then the summer in France, but I have no idea how or where to find work placements in France and my Department is really unhelpful.

I was wondering if anyone has been to France in any similar situations and if you have any tips on how/where to find a summer job, the best places to go, if language schools are a good option, what your experiences are?

I'm stressing out about what I'll be doing cuz I should be deciding by January/February and I still haven't even chosen the places am gonna go to, so this is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    Only advice I can give is my friend took a gap year after doing A levels to go to France and find work. He worked in a cafe opposite the mulin rouge, picked up the language and colloquialisms and he now does a degree in French. He lived in a small rented apartment with some strangers he met on a website. Says it was the best experience of his life!
  • Options
    i lived in france for a year! but i was a student.

you need to decide what part of france you'd like to move to. then you could go on websites and look for internships or 'stages'. you could also sign up with a french recruitment agency who would also find you work.
    you should also make sure that you have made a french CV and covering letter 'lettre de motivation'. the french have a certain way of doing these so have a google for websites to help you with them.
  • Options