Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Colour Inkjet Printers

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I've been using a colour Epson 740 printer for several years but now it's playing up all sorts, I think it's almost had it.

but the one thing that really doesn't want to see me get ride of it is the fact the ink for it is dirt cheap - like from £1 per cartidge.

Buy a new printer isn't a problem what is - are the cost of new ink.. all the latest printers have chips in them to make it hard to refill or get compatiables and by the looks of it instead of paying £2 for completely new ink it's going to be more like £24 for some of the newer models - much more pricey!!

I remember on holiday seeing people that had modded HP printers to use these huge bottle of ink instead of the normal dinky cartidges ... what are you lot all doing about your printers? Any cut price solutions out there?

Comments

• Options
    We're spending lots of cash on genuine cartridges, but seeing as it's a photo printer and the genuine ink has better lastability than the alternatives I suppose it's ok. Refills come in at around 12 quid a go per cartridge.
  • Options
    I want something like this

Home%20Page%20Full%20System.jpg

You'd think someone in China would make an inkjet printer that took loads of cheap ink at once - that would be a consumer people would love to buy even if the printer cost a bit more to begin with
  • Options
    OK I've had a look and I could buy something like an Epson D88 for about £60 and then a continous ink system like below for about £20

I looked up my Epson 740 and it's about 6 years old now - so think it's lasted about as long as should be expected for an inkjet??