Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Dating a single mother...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
does anyone here have experience with dating a single mother? is it different? is it hard work? are you expected to spend time with the child?

i have no previous experience of this and not likely to occur very soon but i was just wondering as its something me and my friends have discussed before.

Comments

• Options
    I don't, but when my mum was dating, she only introduced partners to me if the relationship was becomming serious. I met 3 of her partners over a period of 11 years, and one of them became her husband.

My mum told me, the guys she dated were actually really keen to meet me, not the other way round, but she always stuck to her guns and wouldn't introduce them unless they had discussed the relationship etc. None of the guys she dated saw me as a 'daughter' figure and my mum was very upfront about the fact that they were not there to play daddy - I had a father, only he had died. She said a couple of the guys she started seeing wanted to be the 'hero' and play the father figure and be one happy family. Their intentions were good, but she was quite concerned about how I'd be affected, so didn't introduce them in case it got to intense and it went tits up.

When I did meet them, I must have been about 9 - 10 years old with Steve. We all had drinks in the living room (hot chocolate for me :p) and chatted. He would visit about 3 - 4 times a week. Never stayed over though (while I was there, anyway), my mama was quite strict about overnight guests while I was in the house! Most of the time when he did visit, we'd have dinner, or if we were spending the day together, we'd go out for lunch etc, it was very easy going.