Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

It's not about "those people"...it's those technologies.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
First of all this is a question I'm asking the board. I have no background in...actually anything but school...not law enforcement or stopping terrorists. But my dad was having a discussion I thought was worth sharing.

Hope I say this right. Without doubt there are people right now who belong to a specific group who we most have to look out for in the West. BUT. There's another way to look at this challenge or if you call it war on terror...whatever you want to call it.

What if we ask this question of our leaders. With the rise of information sharing via the Internet, cell phones etc. why didn't anyone in our governments foresee that some people would use all of that information to meet other people who share their point of view and create plans/explosives to do evil -to fight people they saw as their enemy?Plus explosives have advanced too....but again it's not just the explosives but the information on how to make the explosives being shared that's the problem. So isn't it more valid (hope I'm making sense :nervous: ) to acknowledge(?) that yes right now we are fighting these extremists...but if all this information is going to be made available to everyone...shouldn't technology also be used to protect our societies from anyone who could use it in an evil way. Long term...isn't the problem about "those" technologies and not "those" people?

ANNND. If it is about the technologies...what the heck are we doing in Iraq.

Comments

• Options
    I aren't sure what on earth you're asking, but the bombs used in London couldn't have been much more crude.
  • Options