Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

BA staff walk in in support of another company's staff

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    This is my first time posting in P+D so go easy on me… ;-)

I am agreeing with Kermit on this… Gate Gourmet are in serious financial trouble, and while I don’t necessarily agree with how they have gone about things… (like sacking 500 staff without any notice, that seems a bit off), going on strike is just going to jeopardize their entire busines. If I was in charge of BA I would be seriously pondering whether to change their catering supplier. And then all the Gate Gourmet staff would be screwed. Although they won’t because then all their staff will go on strike, and so on.

On a personal aside, I travel quite frequently by plane, often by BA. I am amongst those regular travellers that BA needs to keep hold of. And if these strikes keep happening I may well decide to not trust BA any more, just in case they go on strike again, which they seems to be becoming a regular occurence. If too many of us travellers do that, then BA will be in trouble. And Gate Gourmet won’t have anyone to supply. An no one will have a job.
  • Options
    Two words for you -

"Bad management"

The managers are responsible for manipulating their staff into doing a good days work etc. they failed and this almighty fuck up has followed.

Theres obviously been some sort of argy bargy and some halfwit "in charge" has decided to act this way. Didn't really work, did it?

When you have a union that will walk out at the drop of a het, you need to be a bit more cautious then this.

I would just like to point out again that the strike was legal.