Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Aged 16-25? Share your experience of using the discussion boards and receive a £25 voucher! Take part via text-chat, video or phone. Click here to find out more and to take part.
Options

Pregnancy, condoms, diseases, CHECK POINT! Please Read

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I am not a doctor. I am a 39 yr old women, who has no children by choice. I am giving you the options you need to make important life decisions when it comes to sex.

use a condom (but don't expect the boy to be dependable, because sometimes there not)

use a female condom (at least this way you won't catch HERPES which lasts forever ever like a bestfriend), and will stop you from contracting HIV/AIDS - which despite the medicine improvements over the years will still make you die way before you are ready. The female condom used correctly will also stop you from getting pregnant, but if that is the only reason you are using it - I would try another method.

There is the depo-shot, it lasts 3 months and is full-proof you will not get pregnant as long as you keep the shots up actively.

The patch, I don't know how you can get a patch to stay on your body through 30 showers without falling off, but they claim it is possible, in which case it does work from stopping pregnancy.

If you take medications daily for some other ailment or depression, it would be easy for you to remember to take your oral contraceptives everyday, if you don't you might want another method, or at least have a backup condom just in case.