Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Quick question on accommodation

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I'm in first year uni accommodation at the minute, but next year I want to move into a flat still owned by the university itself. I was just wondering if people here have done the same, have you had to pay a holding fee on the flat over the summer before the semester starts or does the lease only start in September? I mean to ask at the accommodation office but I haven't had a chance to get down there yet.

I'm looking to perhaps spend the summer working in Edinburgh rather than back home, so I thought I'd better see what my housing opportunities are like.

Thanks
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    Finding a flat without summer rent is tough, but why do you want to live in uni housing? Do you mean stay in halls? Cos its time to move on and go hardcore with a landlord its so much more fun!

Bopz
  • Options
    I was originally in a university house before I moved into halls-I had a 50 week contract, so I could have stayed over the summer. The contract started in August. Don't know if thats any help, but hopefully it is.
  • Options
    Yeh I've asked around and it seems some places do include the summer and others don't.

I wanna live in uni accommodation because as far as I can tell right now, the price includes all heating, electricity and internet bills, so I won't have to worry about paying them. But if it does turn out to be a rip off then I'll go private I think.
  • Options
    retainer

Most landlords ask for a retainer over the summer period, and if they don't they sure as hell make the cash back through the remaining nine months rent (term time). whereever you live though, just remember to dress dapper, try