Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Yippee I have a job!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I am now an office administrator and I start on Monday. I'm really happy and excited about it but...

I know this is going to sound stupid but I've been told I'm going to be doing invoices, quotations, costing sheets and lots of other things, and I'm unsure about them. I know what invoices are but I'm not sure about the others. So if anyone has done this sort of thing before, could they possibly run me through what I have to do so I don't look a complete dimwit?

Any advice about this stuff will be gratefully received. Before anyone says it, I know this is in the wrong forum but I need the advice as soon as possible.

I thought all I'd be doing would be copytyping, photocopying, filing and answering the telephone, now I've got all this to think about :crazyeyes

Comments

• Options
    Firstly, congratulations on getting your new job. Quotations could be a number of things, depending on what type of company it is. This simply means a price that something could potentially cost were someone to buy from you. For example, if I wanted to get car insurance, I would ring around and ask how much it would cost. Their replies would be "quotes".

Costing sheets are simply tables which state the income, outcome, and profit margin of the company. For example, if you buy an item for £100 and sell it on for £70, you'd make a £30 loss. The costing sheets would simply show this data in spreadsheet form. Before you ask, no, I haven't worked in an office before, but I learned about these things during a period of Work Experience I did years ago.