Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Post Grad courses

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Just a little question...

I've applied to do an undergraduate degree in Antropology at Edinburgh with the intention of possibly changing to Sociology after my first year. After I've got my degree, is it possible to do a post grad course in Journalism or would I have had to do journalism for three years first? I've heard of people doing it but it doesn't make much sense because surely as a post grad student I'd have to take undergraduates in Journalism?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    I wouldive thought you would have had to do a undergrad in jounalism first, and then your postgrad. I dunno though, because I know they do accelerated postgrad 'career' degrees, e.g. law. Checking with the uni is probably the best bet tbh.
  • Options
    I would have thought it would be fine to do a journalism postgrad without having done it as a first degree - after all, there aren't that many undergraduate journalism courses are there?

As long as you can show some experience (e.g. working for university newspaper or whatever) and can bring out your transferable skills, not to mention enthusiam, you should be there.

I've got a place at UCL to do MSc in Public Policy this autumn, and I did History with German as my BA, so not particularly social sciences, yet I got offers from all 5 places I applied to.

Do what you want as an undergraduate - you don't have to tie yourself to journalism. As they say, variety is the spice of life:yes:
  • Options
    You can do one years masters degrees in journalism, and also do professional training courses at certified colleges. You don't need a journalism degree.
  • Options