Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Insomnia again

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi, I am a student living in a large city and I am having trouble sleeping. I keep waking in the night when I hear the slightest noise, sometimes my heart is beating very loudly and I get a dry mouth...signs of anxiety I think. I have tried everything from exercise to herbal sleeping tablets, I suppose I worry someone will break in and as Im on the ground floor I would be most at risk. Please help, this seems to be happening every night.

Thanks

James

Comments

• Options
    Try some sleeping pills down at the chemists... i use them for flying, and they work so must be good. Can't remember the name though.

Then again there's my cure-all medicince... some alcohol! I used to have a bottle of brandy by my bed to help me in those insomniac moments. It worked until i went off the stuff.
  • Options
    There should be something about doing a search; anyway heres my response from a while ago.

The treatment that you need really depends on the type of insomnia that you have, if its based on the mental stress that you have then obviously sedatives arent the answer.

However if like me you have inheratied a sleeping problem and never sleep for more than about 3 hours in a stretch then it can get preaty bad. As yet I havent managed to get any long term meds from my doctor but I have tried a few.

Nightol ; Useless, doesnt work for me what so ever, all the chemical over the counter sleeping pills are the same, buy Boots own brand if you are going to, it will cost less.

Valium ; Not strictly an insomnia drug, its a muscle relaxant. However it will make you sleep soundly, does have a slight hangover though, lasts about 9hrs.