Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

When' the best time to buy one?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm a student and i'm hopeing to buy a laptop sometime. BUt when should i get one?

For example, the best time to buy fish is on a tuesday, bc that's the day it comes in from the docks.

So......they always say the sale's are on at xmas, but everyone knows that's the time when they jack up prices for everything.

So for laptops...maybe after xmas?

Also, anyone recommend a company? Multivision looks good for £800 of gear.

Thanx:D

Comments

• Options
    I would say new year sales myself.

Is it essential you get a laptop though? A desktop would be cheaper and you would get a faster machine with more disk space, etc.. for less money. Cost you even less if you buy the bits yourself and build it (or ask some nice person to do it for you :) )
  • Options
    Laptops won't really go down much in price even in the sales. I'd suggest do what Ninja said and buy a desktop PC.

Try:

www.ebuyer.co.uk
    www.micromart.co.uk - You might be able to buy a second user one there.

http://www.europc.co.uk/europc/Home.aspx - Very good, ceap prices.
  • Options
    Originally posted by NinjaMaster
    I would say new year sales myself.

Is it essential you get a laptop though? A desktop would be cheaper and you would get a faster machine with more disk space, etc.. for less money.

Yeah i was thinking about a desktop. Bc yuo can now get one of those cube things and a flat screen.

But i want to be alble to take mine into the library to get online. Silly rooms have no internet connection. Othwise i would have gone for the comp.

Thanks for the advice though.
  • Options
    Yeah probably in "a sale" but the truth is there is no best time to buy a new pc.
  • Options