Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

My parent's mental health

Hi all. I'm SXJ, I'm new to this community and I'm just hoping someone can offer some sense of community and support as I feel quite isolated. I'm a University student in my final year, but I'm currently at home with my parents for the Christmas period. I'm only here for 3 weeks (I have been back a week and a half), and I'm really struggling. Christmas was lovely, albeit overwhelming at times, but my parents have really poor mental health. I find the home environment triggering as a result, because when I left home, I accessed therapy and made a lot of progress, but being back here makes me feel like a child again and puts me back in a position where I feel a sense of duty to support my severely depressed parents, who also suffer from alcoholism. They don't expect me to help them, I'm by no means a carer, but I struggle with boundaries and empathy. I thought I'd made progress with these issues in my therapy, but being back here is really challenging and I don't know what I can do to be there for my parents, while also looking after myself and allowing my life, my career progression and my happiness, to grow.

Comments

• Options
    Kate_20Kate_20 Posts: 653 Incredible Poster
    edited December 2021
    Hi @sxj972, welcome to the community.
    Sorry to hear that you are struggling. I think you've done a great job looking after your parents and so let's give yourself some credits for it. Do you find some concepts you learned from your therapy also helpful for them? Maybe it is helpful to share?