Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Advice on self-harming

Karolina28Karolina28 Posts: 4 Newbie
edited February 2020 in Health & Wellbeing
I'm new to this page and would like to know if anyone here self-harms and if you do what advice would you give on how to stop self-harming? As I self-harm and am trying to stop as my mum just found out and is really worried about me :s

[moved from Introduce Yourself by moderator, title edited]

Comments

• Options
    BubblesGoesBooBubblesGoesBoo Posts: 3,590 Community Veteran
    Heey Karolina :)

I self harm, I cant really give advice on how to stop as I still do it, though it has cut back massively, ive only had 3 instances this year :) honestly I just got sick of it, I was sick of being stuck in that vicious cycle, I was sick of the hospital trips/admissions, basically I just wanted my life back.

what has helped me is actually using my coping techniques, my fav one is painting my nails, coming on here to help others, writing/colouring, doing housework or just getting outside away from the temptation, basically anything to keep your hands busy and your mind distracted :)

is your mam being supportive at all? maybe she could help distract you?

I think the main thing when trying to stop self harming is to find out why your doing it, like its different for different people... like is it to feel something/nothing, to distract you from other emotional pain etc.. once you find that out you can find ways to compensate for that feeling without hurting yourself :)

Hope this helps a bit <3
    ' So I put a bullet where I shouda put a helmet, and I crash my car cause I wanna get carried away, that's why I'm standing on the overpass screaming at myself 'hey, I wanna get better''  
  • Options