Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

im confused

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
im no expert at politics but why is it parties seek to please the upper middle class when there are more lower/working class people! its always confused me

is it me or is the only reason they seek support of rich people so they get more money for campaigning?

Comments

• Options
    That is a possible factor.

I think there are a lot more middle-class voters than in previous generations.

Also I think it is shown statistically that the middle-classes are more likely to be 'swing voters'. Labour in particular consider themselves very safe in most of the working class areas and the Tories are very safe in many lower middle-class areas..........
  • Options
    Originally posted by Toadborg
    Also I think it is shown statistically that the middle-classes are more likely to be 'swing voters'. Labour in particular consider themselves very safe in most of the working class areas and the Tories are very safe in many lower middle-class areas.......... [/B]

Do you not think the times are changing now? I feel that maybe they are not as *safe* as they would like to think.
  • Options
    I do think that. Very soon New Labour may have to change their policy base back towards a 'lower' teir of society as the working class becomes increasingly disaffected.......

The Tories were complacent and they lost a mssive chunk of their base to New labour in 97.............
  • Options
    Originally posted by Toadborg
    I do think that.

you agreed with me :hyper:
  • Options
    Re: im confused
    Originally posted by LonDoNErcHriS85
    im no expert at politics but why is it parties seek to please the upper middle class when there are more lower/working class people! its always confused me