Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

The free market and education

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Shouldn't the private sector have a greater role in education? Why can't schools (without government funding) compete for students in a true free market?

Comments

• Options
    As a student, I find myself constantly grappling with my views on this topic. In a related theme, my city's university recently held *yet another* tuition increase protest, in vain.
    Anyway, what worries me about (pardon my paraphrasing) 'privatizing' education is that I'm a firm believer in equal opportunity education. Call me idealistic, but I think it's something worth striving for, even if it will never be fully realized. Bringing the free market into it would completely disrupt this process. The theory of gov't funded education is that it aleviates some of the discrepancies that come from trying to learn while growing up in a lower income home, i.e. the rich usually have more free time to grant their children for a better, less stressful learning process, therefore the children in upper-class schools, to some extent, get better grades by default. If funding were granted exclusively through competition of student populations, we would once again be faced with the scenario that "it takes money/success to make money/success. We're surrounded by enough of that junk already. It seems like we'd be taking a step backward, not forward.
  • Options