Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Infected burn-treatment?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi guys,

I have a 2nd degree burn on my arm that's become infected. The burn happened on Friday night, the blister burst on Monday. From Friday till Monday it had cling film on, and then on Monday I put one of those dressings that's like a giant plaster on. I took it off this morning because I was in serious pain, and realised the burn is infected. It started off white, and is now moving to greeny/black puss under the skin.

I went to the doctors, and he prescribed me some anti-biotics (without asking me any questions or telling me anything about them!) I got home, read the ingredients and realised I can't take them. I've found online that they do a liquid version that should be fine, but it might be a while before I can get it. Seeing the nurse tomorrow to have the burn properly dressed so I'll ask her then... but in the meantime, is there anything I can do to help the infection go away/not get any worse? Is it best to just leave it completely alone or could I put some cream or something on it? (there is another giant plaster dressing on it that I put earlier, it isn't in the open air at the moment)

Thanks in advance :)

Comments

• Options
    Is it because the pills aren't vegan? Do you think you could compromise your beliefs just for a couple of weeks? (Think in Friends, Joey going vegetarian so Phoebe can eat meat when pregnant.) Cos infected stuff can get very nasty in hours rather than days.
  • Options
    I really can't. I'd utterly detest myself and probably end up doing something stupid. I know that sounds pathetic but it's something I can't do. I know that medication is never truely vegan but these have gelatine and shellac in not just lactose or something