Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

What complete rubbish!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Pardon the pun...

From what I managed to see of the newspapers today, the government is planning to tax our rubbish. I believe that the tax is going to be £5 a month. This is under the guise of trying to make us more eco-friendly.

It occours to me (although I'm the first to admit I have limited knowledge on the issue) that people are going to have to throw out their rubbish anyway, and that this unreasonable tax is just a way for them to get more money.

Anyone have any opinions, or indeed a greater insight to the story?

Comments

• Options
    As one of the papers cartoon says today:

You'll pay £14 to have the post delivered, and then pay £5 just to have it taken away again :D

NB: Don't I already pay to have my refuse collected. Isn't that what Council Tax is all about?

Can't see this happening myself. Too much public opposition.
  • Options
    Isn't this just an increase in council tax by £5? I mean, if i don't pay this i'll be arrestred for dumping litter.

Tempting, none the less... Just put my rubbish outside my house and wait to see if they take it away.
    Do you really see each of the countrys dump trucks being linked to a nationonal database that tells them from week to week whether i've paid my £5?

I think this is just unworkable, refuse collection isn't for the good of the house-hold. Its for the good of the public... I mean, rats don't limit themselves to the house's that don't pay up.

Don't get me started on paying for mail. Some things just are not going to work as a privite companys.
  • Options